Thesis Prizes for former IR students

Mr Calum Miller (MPhil, International Relations) and Dr Dominik Zaum (DPhil, International Relations) are the recipients of this years Parvy and Winchester thesis prizes.

Mr Calum Miller was awarded the Dasturzada Dr Jal Pavry Memorial Prize of 500 for his thesis on Imperfect delegation in International Organisations: the IMF and the Turkish financial crisis 1998-2002. Calum is now working in the International Policy section of HM Treasury. Dr Dominik Zaum was the winner of the 2005 Bapsybanoo Marchioness of Winchester Prize of 500 for his doctoral thesis, The Sovereignty Paradox?Norms and the Politics of Statebuilding by the International Community. Dominik is currently the Rose Research Fellow in International Relations at Lady Margaret Hall.

The Social Sciences Divisional Board is responsible for awarding these two prizes for those taking theses (MPhil, MLitt, or DPhil) in the Social Sciences Division or the Faculty of (Modern) History. The Dasturzada Dr Jal Pavry Memorial Prize is awarded to the best thesis on a subject in the area of international peace and understanding, while the Bapsybanoo Marchioness of Winchester Prize is for outstanding theses in areas of International Relations, in particular human freedoms.

The closing date for applications to both these prizes is usually 12 noon on the last Friday in July each year. Applications should be sent to Marga Lyall (Secretary to the Managers of the Cyril Foster and Related Funds) in the Department of Politics and International Relations, and must include a copy of the thesis, together with a short abstract, and a letter supplying (a) the candidate`s name, college, and degree; (b) the names of the candidate`s examiners and supervisor(s) (not applicable to M.Phil. candidates); (c) a clear indication for which one of the two prizes the candidate is submitting the thesis; (d) an address for communication should the candidate not be returning to the University in Michaelmas Term.